Exclaim! Magazine (Feb. 3, 2018) by Ryan B. Patrick

"...tracks such as the acoustic simmer of "Evening Fire," the wistfulness of "A Day of Rain" the emotion of strings-driven "A Little Jungle Walk" and the impeccable timing throughout "Bye for Now" stand ahead of the pack.

A serious back injury prompted the writing of this instrumental concept album, according to Gomes, a reason for the album's sense of quiet urgency. The Tropical Dream evokes a sense of longing, a sentimental pull of a place once visited and yearned for.

https://exclaim.ca/music/article/terry_gomes-the_tropical_dream


The WholeNote Magazine (Feb. 1, 2018) by David Olds
Editor's Corner, February 2018

As the editor of DISCoveries, I see all of the CDs and DVDs received here at The WholeNote – and believe me, that is quite a number, far more than we can cover each month. For instance, there are more than 75 discs covered in this edition, and that is only about half of the number under consideration. I have noticed in recent months an exceptional rise in the number of local and Canadian, mostly independent, jazz releases. In our last issue we covered 24 jazz titles and further on in these pages you’ll find another 17. And I still find a backlog of local content waiting for attention. With this in mind, and take it as a disclaimer if you like, as is occasionally the case I am about to venture outside my comfort zone and report on (an important distinction from reviewing) a few of these neglected titles. So with that caveat, here are some discs that I found of interest this month.


https://www.thewholenote.com/index.php/booksrecords2/editorscorner


Bob Mersereau's Top 100 Canadian Blog
(Jan. 24, 2018)

If Terry Gomes' new album feels like a trip, it's because it was created as a virtual one. While the guitar player was recovering from serious back injury, he imagined a tropical getaway, something to make him feel better, and that lead to this series of compositions. Gomes has played pretty much everything in his career, from rock to classical, but has settled of late in jazz/world music, especially music that touches on his Guyanese heritage. While you can hear lots of South and Central American and Caribbean influences, it's all a fusion of many forms.

Read more...
https://top100canadianblog.blogspot.ca/2018/01/music-review-of-day-terry-gomes.html

Cashbox Canada (Jan. 14, 2018) by Lenny Stoute
(Click on image to read full feature)




FYI Music News Digest (Jan. 5, 2018) by Kerry Doole

– In these bleak days of weather bombs and bone-chilling temps, a sunny musical interlude is welcome. On Jan. 16, Ottawa composer and guitarist Terry Gomes releases a new instrumental album entitled The Tropical Dream. He explains "it was written during winter convalescence," and it delivers a warm fusion of Caribbean, World, and smooth jazz flavours.

http://www.fyimusicnews.ca/articles/2018/01/05/music-news-digest-jan-5-2018

The Daily Vault (Jan. 5, 2018) by Jason Warburg


As has been well-documented by my colleague Benjamin Ray, the prolific Terry Gomes started releasing albums over a decade ago in folk-rock singer-songwriter mode, a sort of Torontonian Paul Simon, before taking a turn toward instrumental music with 2013’s winkingly named Shh. Gomes followed that transitional album with a pair of “beachy” EPs (Sand In My Shoes and Blue.Green.Aquamarine.) devoted to exploring a kind of “island jazz” vibe for his instrumental work.

Gomes came by his affinity for the Caribbean-influenced sounds of the latter two EPs naturally, growing up in a Guyanese family fond of calypso and other South American and Caribbean styles. Having laid all of the above the groundwork, Terry Gomes returns in the dead of winter with The Tropical Dream, a natural progression from all that preceded it, a full-album song cycle that seamlessly melds Latin and jazz influences with a balmy seashore vibe that is, in a word, delightful.

“Happy Landings” opens things up with wonderful interplay between guitar, bass and steel drums, a real conversation happening between the players that’s simultaneously easygoing and agile, laid-back and joyful. The playfulness of that conversation had me grinning by the halfway mark of this concise 2:55 tune. (Another attribute all of these songs share: the longest tune here is 3:50 and none overstay their welcome, moving quickly and smoothly from track to track, theme to theme.)

Read more...http://www.dailyvault.com/toc.php5?review=9692

 

THE TROPICAL DREAM STREAM

Get THE TROPICAL DREAM!

iTunes                        CD Baby DL

       
 
CD copies are now available at Sunrise Records in Ottawa at Bayshore and St. Laurent Shopping Centres!

CD by Mail (includes shipping)      

MAILING LIST!

Join up. It's time to travel!

NEWS!

Read reviews/features from Exclaim!, The WholeNote Magazine, Bob Mersereau's Top 100 Canadian Blog,  Cashbox Canada, FYI Music News and The Daily Vault!

http://www.terrygomes.com/reviews/

FOLLOW ME HERE!

PARTNERS

The best selection of Hawaiian shirts and dresses--made in Hawaii!




CD copies are also available at:
Moonstones Gallery and
Marketplace--
416 Donald B. Munro Dr., in Carp.